Location

The whole area of the Slapy reservoir, including the village of Slapy and its surroundings, has its distinct genius loci – a specific spirit of the place. This special atmosphere is created by the magnificent landscape and the hilly terrain, and also by the many unique historical sites that can be found in the close vicinity.

Why the name “St. John Golf Park”? The reason is quite obvious. The golf course is located just several hundred metres from a statue of one of the oldest Czech patrons and saints, the martyr St. John of Nepomuk. The emblem of the St. John Golf Park at Slapy itself contains a relief based on this statue. Its design is unique and special in two respects – the person in the statue has his index finger in front of his lips, referring to the fact that St. John of Nepomuk is a patron of secrecy, and a star-studded halo can be seen above his head. These five six-pointed stars, which recall the legend of his death, emphasise his saintliness and symbolise the five virtues of the saint – devoutness, humility, charity, discretion and diligence.

It was this statue of St. John of Nepomuk, which was erected in 1721 on the occasion of his beatification, that gave the name to the well-known Saint John currents of the Vltava River. Close to the statue is also located an original baroque sandstone column from 1643 – a monument that symbolizes the changes made to the course of the Vltava River by Kryšpín Fuk, the abbot of Strahov at that time, to make it navigable for boats. However, both the statue and the column had originally been at different locations than today (underneath the dam, close to the power plant) before the Slapy reservoir was built and filled with water. Their original site was approximately 800 metres upstream. Most of the former seven-kilometre long Saint John Currents were flooded by the Štěchovická reservoir in 1943. All this later remained under the water of the Slapy reservoir in 1954. The original beginning of the currents is presently marked only by the village chapel at Rovínek – another popular tourist destination in the neighbourhood of Slapy.

The two nine-hole sections of our golf course were also named after unique local landmarks – Rabyňská hora (the Rabyně Mountain) and Tři kříže (Three Crosses). The first nine holes are located in the southern part of the course, closer to the clubhouse. Their most dominant feature is the magnificent view that opens out from the highest point in this area – the Rabyně Mountain. The very first green of the course can be found right at the top of the hill. We are planning to build a small viewpoint here that would be accessible for hikers.

Gorgeous views of a large part of the reservoir, including the dam, can be seen from a rocky look-out directly opposite the golf course – the Rabyně look-out, which cannot be missed when walking from the dam around the Rabyně Mtn.

The Three Crosses are another very interesting and almost forgotten historical site in the Slapy area. The second nine-hole section of the golf course, located in the northern part of the course, is only a few metres away from this monument. The Three Crosses are hidden in a dense broad-leaved forest, accessible by a very narrow path. Not many would seek such an exceptional spot here – indeed, this is allegedly the geographic centre of the former Czech Kingdom. Unfortunately, the origin and history of the sandstone crosses remain a mystery. Nevertheless, the site itself has a very strong feel to it.

Of course, the village of Slapy itself is also worth visiting. Slapy is an ancient site, the first reference to it dating back to 1292, the year when King Václav II founded the Zbraslav monastery. The King also gave the Zbraslav monks extensive properties and a number of villages, including Slapy and the nearby village of Přestavlky. These two villages neighbour on the golf resort.

A “must see” in the village of Slapy is a vaulted structure, a baroque gem of the local region – the small, but unique church of St. Peter and Paul. According to available sources, the church was built in 1693 based on plans drawn up by famous architect Jan Santini. The largest of the four bells in the tower of the church of St. Peter and Paul is another point of interest. It was cast by Master Bartoloměj in 1525. In the centre of the village, by the church, is a school building that was first mentioned in 1669, and also the building of the vicarage, which now serves as a sheltered residence for people with special needs. The existence of the Slapy vicarage was documented as early as in the 14th century. The entire Slapy estates are often mentioned in the documents of the Zbraslav monastery.

In addition to all the above, the local landscape and surroundings also offer a great many other interesting sites and routes, paths and hikes (the path along the Vltava, the Albert rocks and the nearby Hrdlička protected reserve, etc.) that will lead you to beautiful countryside and, at the same time, provide you with numerous stories attesting to the history of the area.